Club Championship Results (2019)

Club Champions 2019

Like last year, we were blessed with a glorious day for the club championships held at Shouldham Warren on Sunday, 15th December. For me the day started putting out road signs, and at the time it was very windy, but by the time I returned to Shouldham mid-morning it had really quietened down into a beautiful crisp winter’s day – cold, but sunny.

On the current scoring system, I think we can safely say that Barbara George and Mick Liston are the best orienteers in the club. Barbara slipped up last year, but has now won the Carol Towler Salver 4 years out of 5. Mick retained the Barry Chilvers Cup and likewise has won it 4 years out of 5. Note, the same scoring system is used by a number of clubs, including SUFFOC who also held their club championships at the weekend.

Marcus Richardson won the Ella Gilbert Trophy for Junior Club Champion. I can see this being a recurring event over the next 10 years.

I didn’t manage to work out the results for the fastest run-in competition on the day, and having subsequently looked at the splits I see it would have been impossible as the courses did not all have the same last control! However, for those running Brown, Green or Short Green, the fastest men’s run-in was by Glen Richardson beating Thomas Bartram by 6 seconds; and in the women’s Kim Eden beat Katharine Bartram by 39 seconds. For those running Blue or Light Green, the fastest run-in’s were by James Price and Nita Jackman.

Photo’s of the prize giving can be found here.

The full list of winners is:

Men’s Club Champion Mick Liston
Women’s Club Champion Barbara George
Junior Club Champion Marcus Richardson
Fastest Male Glen Richardson (6.6 min/km)
Fastest Female Kim Eden (11.2 min/km)
M10 Marcus Richardson
M12 Joel Fox
M14 Matthew Bethell
W14 Imogen James
M16 James Price
W16 Caitlin Fox
M18 Thomas Bartram
M45+ John Ward
W45+ Katharine Bartram
M55+ Jonathan Gilbert
W55+ Kim Eden
M65+ Mick Liston
M75+ Rodney Freeburn
W75+ Barbara George
Fastest run-in (male) Glen Richardson / James Price
Fastest run-in (female) Kim Eden / Nita Jackman

Previous years club championship results can be found here.

Our thanks go to the Michael Chopping (planner), Julia Paul (organiser), Sally Wilkinson (controller) and all those that volunteered to make it a great event.

Comments are closed.