Club Championship Results

As I was driving to the event, I was thinking about what I would write in this post. It started with “On a glorious autumn day at Blickling . . .”. Well at the time it was, but unfortunately, it turned into a foul day – very cold and very wet. I ran late, and have to admit I seriously considered not running, my decsision not being helped by the fact that I’d forgotten my O shoes – I had to run round in walking boots. However, once I got started I soon warmed up and really enjoyed the Blue Course set by Stephen Searle.

For those who didn’t stay for the prize giving (and I don’t blame you – I was actually in the National Trust coffee shop at the time trying to get warm), we now have the results of the club championships. In the men’s competition, Mick Liston was just over a minute ahead of Ian Shephard, so re-gained the trophy he last won 2 years ago. Hopefully the cup won’t suffer any further damage this year :). In the women’s competition, Barbara George retained her title, again by a massive margin despite good runs from Gill Pilgrim and Katherine Bartram – I think that is now 3 years in a row.

I’m afraid that we have no photos from the prize giving, as everyone was huddled in the red tent, and Les said that it was impossible to get a good photo.

The full list of winners is:

Men’s Champion and winner of the Barry Chilvers Cup – Mick Liston
Women’s Champion and winner of the Carol Towler Salver – Barbara George
Fastest Male – Glen Richardson
Fastest Female – Katherine Bartram
M12 – Herbie Holness
W12 – Imogen James and Daisy Martin
M14 – James Price
M16 – Steven Denby
M45+ – Rob Frost
W45+ – Katherine Bartram
M55+ – Jonathan Gilbert
W55+ – Shona Fairchild
M65+ – Mick Liston
W65+ – Gill Pilgrim
Fastest Run-In – Steven Denby

Our thanks go to the Stephen Searle (planner), Les Jarrald (organiser), Alan Bedder (controller) and all those that volunteered who made it a very successful event.

Comments are closed.